Transportation and Works

Air and Marine Services Branch

John Baker
Assistant Deputy Minister, Air and Marine Services
Phone: (709) 729-3796

Air Services Division

  • Provision, maintenance, and management of provincial air services including:

    • Operation and maintenance of the provincial government’s fleet of two air ambulances completing approximately 1,400 medical missions annually;
    • Operation and maintenance of the provincial government’s fleet of five water bombers to combat approximately 50 forest fires annually;
    • And, operation and management of eight provincial airstrips on the island portion of the province (Wabana, Clarenville, Botwood, Fogo Island, Springdale, Winterland, St. Andrew’s and Port au Choix) and 13 provincial airstrips in Labrador (Black Tickle, Cartwright, Charlottetown, Hopedale, Makkovik, Mary’s Harbour, Nain, Natuashish (on behalf of the Mushuau Innu First Nation), Postville, Port Hope Simpson, Rigolet, St. Lewis and William’s Harbour).  

Ben Farrell
Director, Air Services
Phone:  (709) 256-1037 

Marine Services Division       

  • Provision, maintenance, and management of provincial marine services including:
    • Nine provincially-owned and operated vessels, one provincially-owned and privately operated vessel (through a contract with the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador), and eight privately-owned contracted vessels;
    •  Marine operations accounting for $82 million for 2016-17 (transporting approximately 850,000 passengers, 400,000 vehicles, and 10,000 tonnes of freight annually);
    • Provision of vessel modification and refits of provincially-owned vessels;
    •  And, operation of provincially-owned vessels with a complement of approximately 225 marine staff.  
Marine Services
Department of Transportation and Works
P.O. Box 97 440 Main Street Lewisporte, NL A0G 3A0
Toll-free:    1-888-638-5454
Fax:           1-709-535-6245
Greg Cuff
Director, Marine Services
Phone:    (709) 535-6210 
Last Updated:
This page and all contents are copyright, Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, all rights reserved.